“When the going gets tough the tough,” A sermon by Pastor Richard Daughtridge August 21, 2011

Pastor Richard A. Daughtridge

“When the going gets tough the tough __________.

A sermon by Pastor Richard Daughtridge  August 21, 2011

Today we want to look at  adversity and be encouraged that God has neither forgotten us, nor has He forsaken us. What do you do when times get tough?

When confronted with our greatest adversity we:

  1. Become cave dwellers
  2. Go to the rock
  3. Get going

Psalm 61:2  From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

Psalm 57:1   To the chief Musician, Altaschith, Michtam of David, when he fled from Saul in the cave.

Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee: yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast.

 

Four Responses of David to Adversity:

1.   I will pray from the ends of the earth when my heart is overwhelmed (Psalm 61:2).

2.   I will abide in Your tabernacle forever (Psalm 61:4).

3.   I will trust in the  hiding place of Your wings.

4.   I will sing praise unto Your name forever (Psalm 61:8)

Ten Reasons Why David Expected God to Answer

1.   My soul trusts You (Psalm 57:1).

2.   You are my refuge.

3.   I have confidence in You (Psalm 57:2).

4.   You will save me from reproach (Psalm 57:3).

5.   You will show mercy and truth.

6.   I am in the midst of enemies (Psalm 57:4).

7.   They have set a trap for me (Psalm 57:6).

8.   I am greatly distressed.

9.   Your mercy is great (Psalm 57:10).

10. Your truth reaches unto heaven.

Psalm 36:7   How excellent is thy lovingkindness, O God! therefore the children of men put their trust under the shadow of thy wings.

Psalm 17:8   Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings,

Psalm 27:5   For in the time of trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion: in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me; he shall set me up upon a rock.

2 Chronicles 16:9 (a) For the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to shew himself strong in the behalf of them whose heart is perfect toward him.

Psalm 34:15 The eyes of the Lord are upon the righteous, and his ears are open unto their cry.

Proverbs 5:21  For the ways of man are before the eyes of the Lord, and he pondereth all his goings.

Proverbs 15:3  The eyes of the Lord are in every place, beholding the evil and the good.

Psalm 33:18  Behold, the eye of the Lord is upon them that fear him, upon them that hope in his mercy;

Conclusion:  Three resources  we have in adversity.

1. The person of God , The Holy Spirit (presence)

2. The words of God (promise)

3. The Church ( people)

Philip. 4:13  I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

Sermon song : Rock of Ages

Leave a Reply

