“Shalom, Taste of Heaven on Earth”, sermon one of “In My Father’s House” , sermon series by Pastor Richard Daughtridge

Christ is knocking.

“Shalom, Taste of Heaven on Earth” 

A local doctor friend recently asked me, “Richard, if you Christians believe in Heaven like you say why do you pray so much to stay alive?”

I replied, “Life is so valuable because of the mission we have on earth and the Lord’s prayer.” Lord’s prayer?

“Thy Kingdom Come” is a part of life also, not just a place where we go when we die.  A part of sacred life for every believer is God’s  invisible sacred kingdom . When we are finished our work on earth we’ll go home or as you put it die. Until that moment that he chooses we cherish life.

I’ve always said, “ You’ll never understand death until you understand life.

Life both refines and defines our eternity. To make it simple we spend an entire life preparing for eternity.     

John 14:1-6 Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me. [2] In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. [3] And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.

John 14:16-18   And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever; [17] Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you. [18] I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.

John 14:27  Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

Romans 5:1 Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ:

“Understanding life changes our view of death.”

As Christians we are more than just messengers of salvation but agents of peace, (shalom- hebrew) (.eirene- greek)  Shalom  is more than a warm and fuzzy feeling. It is the source of compassion, justice, health, dignity of life, purpose, and love.

Being such an agent is like a divine calling or eternal opportunity to invest into

It is like finding the missing part that fallen man has  longed for and searched for for years.

Shalom is as Walter Brueggemann put it, “the dream of God” for a redeemed world and an end to our “division, hostility, fear, drivenness, and misery.”

Isaiah 35:5-6  “Then will the eyes of the blind be opened and the ears of the deaf unstopped. Then will the lame leap like a deer, and the mute tongue shout for joy”

Isaiah 57:18  “I have seen their ways, but I will heal them; I will guide them and restore comfort to them,”

The Father’s Dream

Isaiah 61:1-3 The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me; because the Lord hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound; [2] To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all that mourn; [3] To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified.

Jeremiah  30:19 “From [the broken] will come songs of thanksgiving and the sound of rejoicing”;

Zechariah 10:7 “Their children will see it and be joyful; their hearts will rejoice in the LORD”.

Are we agents of this kind of healing and restoration in our world?

Before we are ready to go into The Kingdom of God through the door of death we must allow that same kingdom to rule our lives here.

Let’s listen to the kingdom cry:  “Thy kingdom come thy will be done on earth”.

Shalom was God’s dream. Your availability and faith is part of this dream coming true on earth.

God loves us. May we be his children making the dream of shalom alive in our world.

Here’s the list again.

  1. compassion
  2. justice
  3. health
  4. dignity of life
  5. purpose
  6. love.

Why life because Christian are the agents of shalom, the proponents of good that God dreams for man. Jesus called us the Salt of the Earth.

Now that we understand life,  next week we will examine death,  our exit journey, to our new home. It’s a place in heaven with my name on.it (john 14:3   Like the country song says,  “When I get where I’m going to the far side of the sky.”  First thing that I’m gonna do is _____________?

sermon song:  I Love to Tell the Story

Leave a Reply

