“Wind Beneath My Wings” Sermon to Honor Mothers 05/09/10 by Pastor Richard Daughtridge

Betty Daughtridge 1996

“Wind Beneath My Wings”   Sermon to Honor Mothers  05/09/10   by Pastor Richard Daughtridge

God’s agape love has always fascinated me. It is an unconditional and nurturing gift that God instills in parents to help us through the primary years of development. The attachment however last a life time. Such is a mother’s love.

I have fond memories of mom through the difficult moments of childhood. One was when dad was layed off from work and mom was determined to feed six children. We didn’t have a car and mom would ride her bike. She would ride along the roadside and pick up Coke and Pepsi Bottles. She would return them to the store where they would trade them for food, a slab of fatback (fatty unsliced bacon with no lean), and some flour to make bread (biscuits). She would cook the meat to crisp, make gravy and use the left over grease in the pan to prepare the doe for the biscuits. It was a feast to us.

This a medley I put together in honor of her along with all the mothers here today.

Song: The Hand that Rocks the Cradle/ You’re my Hero / Wind Beneath My Wings

Mom was probably one of the most loving, caring, and compassionate people that I ever met. She said lots of prayers over her children and I was blessed to call her mom. The greatest thing said about her at her funeral was that she was everyone’s mom.   People called her mom that I didn’t know.

I married Robin which I thank God has become that same type role model for our children. A mother’s love and strength to me seem supernatural. Well maybe it is.

We have some great moms in this church and today we honor you.

Deut. 6:7 And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.

Deut. 11:19 And ye shall teach them your children, speaking of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.

What is our commitment as parents?

Deuteronomy six gives us some thoughts on the subject. Here are 10 points.

1. To love God wholeheartedly (Deut. 6:5)

2. To have God’s words in our heart (Deut. 6:6)

3. To teach God’s Word diligently to our children (Deut. 6:7,20-25)

4.To talk of God and to God at home.  (Deut. 6:7)

5.To memorize and post God’s word at home. (Deut. 6:9)

6. To remember God and serve God in prosperity and success (Deut. 6:10-12)

7. To honor the Lord, serve Him. (Deut. 6:13)

8. To detest idols (Deut. 6:14-15)

9. To diligently keep the commandments, testimonies, and statutes (Deut. 6:17)

10. To do that which is right and good in the sight of God and man (Deut. 6:18)

The results of such a to do list is found in Proverbs.

Proverbs 31:28 Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her.

Mother’s we are blessed to honor you.

2 Responses to ““Wind Beneath My Wings” Sermon to Honor Mothers 05/09/10 by Pastor Richard Daughtridge”

  1. Lester Daughtridge Says:

    This is my testimony,

    I represent one of the many that have benefited from this woman’s life. I, her first born was blessed to be guided through a very difficult childhood. “She was not only my Mother, but a Master Magician”. She could take the worst of times and make them a positive learning experience for me and my siblings. More than the personal sacrifices she made to give us some semblance of hope, there was the profound love that irradiated through her. We were all soaked from head to toe with it and it was contagious affecting everyone who had the pleasure and good fortune to know her.

    I am merely a reflection of her labor. I feel I have excelled in my life, finally coming to the crossroad of retirement. I have very serious decisions to make but I am prepared. This woman, “ My Mother” dedicated her entire life preparing me, my Brothers, and my Sisters. I just wished that I could have been there when they offered her up to; let there be no mistake; “heaven” in the sweet spirit of songs and worship. I will see her again one day and then she can harvest yet another fruit of her labor here on earth.

    Richard, I love you for who you are and the testimony you gave on our Mom. I validate this testimony as the eldest Son of a woman that sits at feet of my savior, “Jesus Christ” and through him I will live to see her again.

    Lester E. Daughtridge Jr.
    Police Chief, MWEOC
    Mt. Weather, VA

  2. AWESOME sermon, Richard! Be sure to have plenty of kleenex on hand Sunday!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

