Sermon Notes: “Why am I here?” 10/11/09

richard2

Why am I here? By Pastor Richard Daughtridge


We’ve been answering three major questions. They are:


  • Where did I come from? Not a monkey. We were created by God. Oct. 4th
  • Why am I here? Today’s Message

  • Where am I going? A victorious look at death and Heaven. Oct.25th

Why am I here? By Pastor Richard Daughtridge

1. I’m here for God (created for God to love)

Job 10:11-13   Thou hast clothed me with skin and flesh, and hast fenced me with bones and sinews. [12] Thou hast granted me life and favour, and thy visitation hath preserved my spirit. [13] And these things hast thou hid in thine heart: I know that this is with thee.

  • Equipment list :  Body,  Soul, and  Spirit
  • Cost of becoming like Christ

Matthew 16:24-26  Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me. [25] For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it. [26] For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?

  • Mission and Inheritance

Ephes. 1:11  In whom also we have obtained an inheritance, being predestinated according to the purpose of him who worketh all things after the counsel of his own will:

Psalm 138:8 The Lord will perfect that which concerneth me: thy mercy, O Lord, endureth for ever: forsake not the works of thine own hands.

2. I’m here for lost humanity. (Co-worker with Christ)

2 Cor. 5:18-19 And all things are of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given to us the ministry of reconciliation; [19] To wit, that God was in Christ, reconciling the world unto himself, not imputing their trespasses unto them; and hath committed unto us the word of reconciliation.

Hebrews 2:17  Wherefore in all things it behoved him to be made like unto his brethren, that he might be a merciful and faithful high priest in things pertaining to God, to make reconciliation for the sins of the people.

3. I’m here for the church. (An important part of Christ’s body)

Ephes. 4:11-13  And he gave some, apostles; and some, prophets; and some, evangelists; and some, pastors and teachers; [12] For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ: [13] Till we all come in the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, unto a perfect man, unto the measure of the stature of the fulness of Christ:

4. I’m here for me. (Showers of blessings)

Deut. 28:2  And all these blessings shall come on thee, and overtake thee, if thou shalt hearken unto the voice of the Lord thy God.

Matthew 21:22  And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.

John 15:7  If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.

Ephes. 1:3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who hath blessed us with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ:

The conclusion is that we are all here for a very special reason. May we all find together our significant reason for being alive? Eternity and life depend on it.

One Response to “Sermon Notes: “Why am I here?” 10/11/09”

  1. Hello Pastor Richard,I am Bobby Dorsey, son of Pastor Marvin Dorsey, Nashville,NC . Glad to see God is still blessing you and your family, Enjoying your messages,keep up th good work!

Leave a Reply

