Sermon Outline 08/09/09 Lessons we can learn from the Apostle Paul By Richard Daughtridge

richard2“Lessons we can learn from the Apostle Paul” by Richard Daughtridge

Acts 20:28
Take heed therefore unto yourselves, and to all the flock, over the which the Holy Ghost hath made you overseers, to feed the church of God, which he hath purchased with his own blood.

2 Tim. 4:7
I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:

1. Titles or Spiritual Gifts? (Paul had three)

2 Timothy 1:11  “And of this gospel I was appointed a preacher and an apostle and a teacher.”

2. Follow the crowd? or Think outside the box? ( Flexibility)

Romans 15:19-21

Through mighty signs and wonders, by the power of the Spirit of God; so that from Jerusalem, and round about unto Illyricum, I have fully preached the gospel of Christ. Yea, so have I strived to preach the gospel, not where Christ was named, lest I should build upon another man’s foundation: But as it is written, To whom he was not spoken of, they shall see: and they that have not heard shall understand.

a. To build from scratch, to go where there are no churches.

“For God, who was at work in the ministry of Peter as an apostle to the Jews, was also at work in my ministry as an apostle to the Gentiles.” Galatians 2:8

b. To go to the unchurched Gentiles.

Acts 20:24 (TLB) “Life is worth nothing unless I use it for doing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus…”

3. Get-r-done (Talents.)

Acts 18:2b-4 (GNB)”… Paul went to see them, and stayed and worked with them, because he earned his living by making tents, just as they did. He debated in the synagogues every Sabbath, trying to convince both Jews and Gentiles.”

a.  To work with his hands.

Those who have the ability to make crafts, God gave it to you not only to get income or to make nice things for your home, but to use in church.
b. To debate.
4. Paul used his past as a spring board. (Failing Forward)
Galatians 1:13-14 I am verily a man which am a Jew, born in Tarsus, a city in Cilicia, yet brought up in this city at the feet of Gamaliel, and taught according to the perfect manner of the law of the fathers, and was zealous toward God, as ye all are this day.

Galatians 1:13-14 For ye have heard of my conversation in time past in the Jews’ religion, how that beyond measure I persecuted the church of God, and wasted it: [14] And profited in the Jews’ religion above many my equals in mine own nation, being more exceedingly zealous of the traditions of my fathers.

5. Never Give Up! (The battles were inside and out.)

2 Corinthians 11:23-27″… I have been in prison more times … near death often … been whipped five times with 39 lashes by the Jews and three times by the Romans … once stoned … I’ve been in three shipwrecks … and once spent 24 hours in the water … In my travels I’ve been in danger from floods … robbers … enemies … wild animals and false friends … I’ve served long hours without sleep or food or shelter or even clothing …”

2 Corinthians 12:7 “To keep me from becoming conceited because of these great revelations, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan, to torment me.”

Our dreams are too eternally important and the next generation is counting on us to pass to them a better world.  May we like Paul, fight a good fight, keep the faith and never give up?

Be Thou My Vision   Page 562

Jesus is the Sweetest Name I Know  Page 76

One Response to “Sermon Outline 08/09/09 Lessons we can learn from the Apostle Paul By Richard Daughtridge”

  1. Celia Mansaray Says:

    I am actually responding to the prayer request for Rev. & Mrs. Daughtridge’s daughter and grandson. You are all in my prayers, and I have passed the request on to others who prayed for me when I was diagnosed with malignant bladder cancer in August 2010. I was cancer-free in 30 days after 1 surgery and no follow-up radiation or chemo reatment at all. Praise God from whom all blessings flow–upon us all, including Alyson and Walker.

Leave a Reply

