Sermon Notes Righteousness (right standing with God) 05/31/09

richard2Righteousness (Right Standing With God)

Worthiness to come into the presence of God is something I used to always wrestled with. I guess I did not see myself as having value and dignity required to approach such a holy God. Such confidence is essential in this new found relationship with our Heavenly Father.

How do we get such confidence?

We get it as we understand salvation’s plan and accept His gift of eternal life through faith.

By understanding Christ’s accomplishments through His death, and the gifts offered in his resurrection, I see myself differently.

I see myself as loved, accepted, and justified by faith. I am welcomed by God into His spiritual world. I’ve been re-created spiritually (born again) to connect with God.

How do we see ourselves as having right standing (righteousness) with God?

Can we accept and see ourselves the way that he sees us?

Building off the R in righteousness I’d like to examine five thoughts on salvation’s plan.

1.Revelation: (Clearly hearing and understanding)

Romans 10:14 How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?

Mark 1:15 And saying, The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand: repent ye, and believe the gospel.

2. Repentance: (thinking differently afterwards)

Repentance implies my definition that something is changing inside. My heart is being transformed by the Christ that I have just invited to live in my heart. He has just entered my life and has become my Lord and Savior.

Such change begins when I believe and make a decision to enter into this relationship.

This is not just a mental assent to change like a reading a self help book, but rather it is the consenting of two wills, your will and God’s will, entering into a relationship with each other.

It is God working in you through His Holy Spirit and you working through faith to appropriates His plan for your well being.

Acts 3:19 Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out, when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord;

Repentance is like a reverse gear on your car. You find you are going the wrong way and change direction. You now have help,God’s person, God’s word and God’s people. You are free to change.

3.Response of faith:

Different denominations and churches all seem to specialize in formulas that they believe to be the required response to be saved. All are sincere but sometimes miss the intimate relationship Christ is offering. Rather than finding that relationship they find a recipe for salvation.

Some say, repeat this prayer. Some say, it’s by taking communion. Others say by saying a weekly confession. Some say salvation comes through baptism. Others say through good works. Another says you’re saved by joining the church. The list goes on and on.

I submit to you that all these are valid outward and necessary works but are a reflection of an inward work that has taken place in our heart. This is called justification.

Let’s look at some of the scriptures.

Romans 5:1 Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ:

Romans 10:9 That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

Romans 10:10 For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.

Romans 10:17 So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.

Acts 2:38 Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.

4. Rescued by God:

Romans 5:6 For when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.

Romans 5:8 But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

1 Cor. 15:3 For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures;

Romans 4:24-25 But for us also, to whom it shall be imputed, if we believe on him that raised up Jesus our Lord from the dead; [25] Who was delivered for our offences, and was raised again for our justification.

5. Resurrected;

Galatians 2:20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Ephes. 2:6 And hath raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus:

Ephes. 1:20 Which he wrought in Christ, when he raised him from the dead, and set him at his own right hand in the heavenly places,
Romans 8:11 But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwell in you, he that raised up Christ from the dead shall also quicken your mortal bodies by his Spirit that dwelleth in you.

Acts 17:31 Because he hath appointed a day, in the which he will judge the world in righteousness by that man whom he hath ordained; whereof he hath given assurance unto all men, in that he hath raised him from the dead.

Leave a Reply

