Mothers Day Sermon 05/10/09 Outline

Sermon,” Well Done Mom! “

By Richard Daughtridge

richard2I was privileged to officiate my mother’s funeral service three years ago in January of 2006. My sermon title was, “Well Done Mom”.

I’m sure my mom would have wanted to hear those words from her son ,but more importantly, I know that she longed to hear them from her Savior.

I’ll never forget the day she went to heaven.

We were singing around her bed when the moment came. Mom was singing through her oxygen mask. We were singing “How Great Thou Art”.

I noticed that Mom’s mouth had stopped moving.

Somewhere between, “Then sings my soul and My Savior God to thee,” she slipped into eternity.

I remember telling our family, “Mom just finished this song in heaven.”

We were not always a close and happy family. For many years our lives were tarnished with regrets, bad choices, no faith in God, and we certainly lived outside the influence of the church.

The last thirty some years ,however, were different. The heritage that God gave to my mom and to our family is reflected in the last verse of the 23rd Psalm. “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever” described what we experienced.

We needed lots of goodness and plenty of mercy and Mom had plenty to give.

I believe that mothers in our Christian faith play a major role in Christ’s plan to reconcile men to a restored relationship with God.

From single moms, to widows, wives and grandmothers you all deserve the highest honor. Each of you have your own story and unique circumstances. Books have recorded influences by which our world has been changed by mothers.

This is just a sample of mine. God gifted you in a special way and our lives are blessed because of you.

It doesn’t go unnoticed. You all deserve a big “Well Done”.

Well Done Mom:

1. For all the prayers you’ve prayed.

1 Samuel 2:1 And Hannah prayed, and said, “My heart rejoiced in the Lord, mine horn is exalted in the Lord: my mouth is enlarged over mine enemies; because I rejoice in thy salvation.”

2. You accepted the role of mother.

Luke 1:46-48 And Mary said, “My soul doth magnify the Lord, [47] and my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Saviour. [48] For he hath regarded the low estate of His handmaiden: for, behold, from henceforth, all generations shall call me blessed.”

3. You lived out your faith.

2 Tim. 1:5 “When I call to remembrance the unfeigned faith that is in thee, which dwelt first in thy grandmother Lois, and thy mother Eunice; and I am persuaded is in thee also.”

4. You taught us God’s Word.

Deut. 6:6-7 “And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart: [7] And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.”

5. You were a great cook.

Proverbs 31:14 “She is like the merchant’s ship; she bringeth her food from afar.”

6. You made our world a home.

Proverbs 31:16 “She considereth a field, and buyeth it: with the fruit of her hands she planteth a vineyard.”

7. You shared our dreams.

Proverbs 31:23 “Her husband is known in the gates, when he sitteth among the elders of the land.”

8. Our confidence is a reflection of you.

Proverbs 31:25 “Strength and honour are her clothing; and she shall rejoice in time to come.”

9. You taught us manners.

Proverbs 31:26 “She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness.”

10. You taught us to work.

Proverbs 31:27 “She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness.”

11.You’ve blessed us and our children.

Proverbs 31:28 “Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her.”

12.You taught us to love God.

Proverbs 31:30 “Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the Lord, she shall be praised.”

13. You deserve our praise

Proverbs 31:31 “Give her of the fruit of her hands; and let her own works praise her in the gates.”

The greatest praise is yet to come when Christ shall say, “Well done”. Until then Mothers, we honor you. We realize the gifts you bring to our lives.

Well Done Moms!

Leave a Reply

