The Invitation: “Let’s do Lunch” signed God. Sermon 04/03/09

Pastor Richard

Pastor Richard

The Invitation: “Let’s do lunch” by Pastor Richard Daughtridge

Ever been hungry?

My mom was a good cook. She baked homemade biscuits at every meal. She had the best fried chicken you’ve ever tasted. Her cakes were so moist not one crumb would fall when pressed to the bottom side of a fork.

We here at Jacob’s Church love to eat also. We have the greatest cooks. At our recent Jacob’s Family Circle we could have fed an army. The fried chicken, scalloped potatoes, casseroles, the deviled eggs, the chips and the list goes on and on. Then there were all the the desserts: pies, cakes, heavenly delight, Jell-O pudding and fresh baked cookies. It just couldn’t have been better, but when you add the fellowship and friendly laughter I think this was as close to Heaven as it gets.

We are also hungry for the heavenly spiritual feast prepared for us.

One restaurant sign read, “Come hungry and thirsty!”

That’s kind of the same idea God has as we come to meet with him for this spiritual buffet. He has prepared a table that seemingly is endless in portion.

This eternal meat and drink is part of our invisible world and yet the sustaining power and strength that comes from such a meal is life changing.

We each have a special invitation to this feast.

Thirsty

Isaiah 55:1 Ho, every one that thirsteth, come ye to the waters, and he that hath no money; come ye, buy, and eat; yea, come, buy wine and milk without money and without price.

Tired

Matthew 11:28-30 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. [29] Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. [30] For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

Battle Weary

Psalm 23:5-6 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. [6] Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

Not feeling very Godly

Matthew 5:6 Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

Loaded with Regrets

John 4:13-15 Jesus answered and said unto her, Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again: [14] But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life. [15] The woman saith unto him, Sir, give me this water, that I thirst not, neither come hither to draw.

Hungry

John 6:33 For the bread of God is he which cometh down from heaven, and giveth life unto the world.

John 6:35 And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.

Today’s Menu

John 6:53-54 Then Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, ye have no life in you. [54] Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day.

John 7:37 In the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried, saying, If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink.

Feeling Unconnected

John 7:38 He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.

John 7:39 (But this spake he of the Spirit, which they that believe on him should receive: for the Holy Ghost was not yet given; because that Jesus was not yet glorified.)

Rev. 3:20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

Let’s do Lunch. R.S.V.P. Mandatory. What is your response?

Christ’s Part
1. I stand at the door and knock.
2. If any man hear My voice and open the door, I will come in.
3. I will sup with Him.
Our Part
1. If any man hears
2. If any man opens the door
3. If any man is willing to sup with Me

One Response to “The Invitation: “Let’s do Lunch” signed God. Sermon 04/03/09”

  1. You’re on a roll, Richard! Another GREAT message! But not surprised at all. 🙂 Have a super-dee-duper day!

Leave a Reply

