What am I bid? Sunday March 15,2009

Pastor Richard

Pastor Richard

This Week’s Sermon Outline “What am I bid?”

The bill of sale of the auction was posted. “A passover lamb will be the item sold first ”

“What will you give me if I deliver [Jesus] to you?” (Matt.26:15).

Was Judas so desperate for money? Had the purse gotten so tight that he just snapped? After all the miracles and the fulfillment of prophecies did he still not know that this was Christ,The Lamb of God?

What am I bid? Only thirty pieces of silver? Was that His worth?

From a Tax Collector’s Perspective (Matthew Chapter 26)
What am I Bid?

From a Revolutionary Activist’s Perspective. (John 13:27) “Satan entered into him” .

What am I Bid?

From Christs perspective.
“Truly, I say to you, one of you will betray me” (Matthew 26: 21)
What am I Bid?

Who will bid 30 pieces of silver? Going once, Going Twice,

“Wait who said that?”
“Peter” Alright Peter What’s your bid?

Matthew 26:33 Peter answered and said unto him, “Though all men shall be offended because of thee, yet will I never be offended.”

OK You can bid but when you get to checkout, can you pay?

Matthew 26:35 Peter said unto him, Though I should die with thee, yet will I not deny thee. Likewise also said all the disciples. (disciples got in on the bidding)

All the disciples left but did they ever pay up on their bid?

Matthew 26:56 Then all the disciples forsook him, and fled.
Going Once, Going Twice,
Sold

How much would you pay?

On the block is an offer of Everlasting life for mankind.

Matthew 16:26 For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?

Genesis 6:6 And it repented the Lord that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him at his heart.

Isaiah 1:18 Come now, and let us reason together, saith the Lord: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.

Psalm 22:6-8 But I am a worm, and no man; a reproach of men, and despised of the people. [7] All they that see me laugh me to scorn: they shoot out the lip, they shake the head saying, [8] He trusted on the Lord that he would deliver him: let him deliver him, seeing he delighted in him.

Zechariah 11:12-13 “And I said unto them, If you think good, give me my hire; and if not, forbear. So they weighed for my hire thirty pieces of silver. And Jehovah said unto me, Cast it unto the potter, the goodly price that I was prized at by them. And I took the thirty pieces of silver, and cast them unto the potter, in the house of Jehovah”.

Matthew 27:3 Then Judas, which had betrayeth him, when he saw that he was condemned, repented himself, and brought again the thirty pieces of silver to the chief priests and elders,

1 Cor. 6:20 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.

1 Cor. 7:23 Ye are bought with a price; be not ye the servants of men.

2 Peter 2:1 But there were false prophets also among the people, even as there shall be false teachers among you, who privily shall bring in damnable heresies, even denying the Lord that bought them, and bring upon themselves swift destruction.

Romans 5:8 But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

1 Cor. 15:3 For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures;

Romans 5:1 Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ:

Matthew 26:75 And Peter remembered the word of Jesus, which said unto him, Before the cock crow, thou shalt deny me thrice. And he went out, and wept bitterly.

The bidding is over. The auctioneer has slamed the hammer and declared Sold(“It is Finished”)

What was sold? Let’s take a closer look at the merchadise.

What was it? – A Lamb – A Lion – A King – A Son- A Friend- God- Messiah- A Savior

All those things and more. Christ was sold.

The currency that was used to settle the bid was love.

John 3:16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

2 Cor. 5:14 For the love of Christ constraineth us; because we thus judge, that if one died for all, then were all dead:
What is your bid?

Leave a Reply

